Graeme Wade FCPA elected President and Chairman of the Board

10 September 

Graeme Wade FCPA has been elected as the new President and Chairman of the Board of CPA Australia, commencing 1 October 2014, with Peter Dowling AM FCPA and Professor Tyrone Carlin FCPA elected as Deputy Presidents.

Mr Wade has operated at partner level in public practice for more than 25-years and knows the sector intimately. He has consulted widely across both the public and private sector.

Mr Wade was appointed a Board Director in 2006 and was elected as Deputy President in 2011. He is a past Chairman of the Policy Governance, Audit and Risk and Finance Committees.

Mr Wade says he is excited to be leading the Board over the next 12 months.

“I am humbled to be entrusted by my colleagues to take on the role of President and Chairman.

“CPA Australia continues to strive to be the world’s best member services organisation. On behalf of our 150,000 members around Australia, throughout the Asia Pacific and around the world, I'm delighted to continue the great work of an organisation of which I'm extremely proud.”

Mr Wade acknowledged the contribution of outgoing President and Chairman, Penny Egan FCPA.

“Penny has a proven track record in leadership which she brought to her role as CPA Australia’s President. We have never been on a stronger, more sustainable footing and her contribution in achieving that has been immense.

“We’re fortunate to retain Penny’s ongoing experience and expertise on our Board,” Mr Wade said.

In other changes, directors Bruce Trebilcock FCPA, Christina Foo FCPA and Mark Grey have retired from the Board.

David Spong FCPA and Michele Dolin FCPA have been elected as member directors, the Hon Richard Alston has been elected a non-member director and Professor Richard Petty FCPA has been re-elected for a further term.

Mr Wade also paid tribute to the retiring directors:

“Throughout their tenures, Bruce, Christina and Mark have all made outstanding contributions to CPA Australia. Their professionalism and commitment will be missed and all members owe them a debt of gratitude for the part they have played in our success” Mr Wade said.